Write on! Write Strong! Just scratch my belly!

Hello again on this fine Monday morning.

Today, I plan to unleash a few dreaded query letters to literary agents. Anyone in my shoes knows how nerve racking this can be, even before you receive a response. If and when you receive rejection, dust yourself off and just remember to Write on…Write strong!

I was able to take the next step. A publisher requested my entire story. Now, I’m not out of the woods yet, but it makes the wait even harder. I experienced scenes that I only wrote about. Like barely breathing, shaky hands, and emotions blotting out a coherent thought!

On that, have you ever received a rejection that made you smile? I know this sounds so strange, but I actually did. I received one who explained this “industry is incredibly subjective”, and “strongly encouraged” me to submit elsewhere. Hmmm, great…so does that mean I’m on to something…or is it just their way of being nice?

Most of us would love to hear their wisdom? After all, we can always improve, even if you’re a best seller? Tell me your crazy and witty rejections. Or even better,how about your success story? This can be on anything: a job or college, anything you wish to share. And how did you get through it?

Me, I have my family and 2 dogs. Advice from one: sticks and stones may break my bones, but you can always scratch my belly…

Carmie

3 comments

  1. I love your writing style! I got rejected so many times it seemed I’d never get picked up. Just this month, though, I was picked up! Desert Palm Press offered me a contract for my book and I couldn’t be happier. I guess what I’m trying to say is, stay strong! Keep submitting! Someone, somewhere, will fall in love with your writing just as hard as your dogs love belly rubs.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

